The Jit Trainor Award

The Trainor Award is presented annually to an outstanding American or foreigner for distinction in the conduct of diplomacy. The award is named for the late Raymond “Jit” Trainor, the much admired former registrar of the Walsh School of Foreign Service. The Trainor Trust Fund in his honor is overseen by Frank J. Hogan (chairman), Reginald Bourdon, Allison L. Hiltz, Robert E. McHugh, and George R. (Rip) Rowan.


2016 Trainor Award to DOE Secretary Ernest Moniz: Weapons, Windmills, Quarks and Quagmires

Dr. Ernest Moniz, U.S. Secretary of Energy, received the 2016 Trainor Award for Distinction in the Conduct of Diplomacy for his role and his team’s role in the P5+1 negotiations on the Iranian nuclear program and the Paris climate talks. The first scientist to receive the prestigious award, Dr. Moniz addressed a large audience of students and faculty at Georgetown’s School of Foreign Service on April 11, 2016, reflecting not only on the Iranian and Paris talks but the Department of Energy’s broad role bringing science to diplomacy on “weapons, windmills, quarks and quagmires.”

Learn more


U.S. Policy in the Middle East: Present Course, Future Direction
Under Secretary Wendy Sherman

On September 17, 2014, the Institute presented Ambassador Wendy Sherman, Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs, with this year's award, the thirty-first in the series. 

Ambassador Wendy R. Sherman was sworn in as Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs on September 21, 2011, a position she will retain during the interim period. Prior to this position, Under Secretary Sherman served as Vice Chair of Albright Stonebridge Group, a global strategy firm, and a member of the Investment Committee of Albright Capital Management, an affiliated investment advisory firm focused on emerging markets.

Ambassador Sherman served as Counselor for the State Department from 1997 to 2001, as well as Special Advisor to President Clinton and Policy Coordinator on North Korea. From 1993 to 1996, under Secretary of State Warren Christopher, she was Assistant Secretary for Legislative Affairs.

Download Previous Trainor Lectures

2016 - Weapons, Windmills, Quarks and Quagmires

Dr. Ernest Moniz, U.S. Secretary of Energy


2014 - U.S. Policy in the Middle East: Present Course, Future Direction
Ambassador Wendy Sherman, Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs
U.S. Department of State
[Download] [Transcript]

2011- Protecting Populations at Risk in Divided Nations: Whose Responsibility Is It?
Dr. Francis M. Deng, Special Adviser to the UN Secretary-General on the Prevention of Genocide

2009 - Civil Society and Public Interest Diplomacy
The Honorable Louise Arbour, President and CEO of the International Crisis Group

1996 - The Diplomatic Lessons Learned from the Renewal of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons
Ambassadors Jayantha Dhanapala and Thomas Graham, Jr.


Previous Winners of the Trainor Award

2016 - Dr. Ernest Moniz, U.S. Secretary of Energy

2014 - Ambassador Wendy Sherman, Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs, U.S. Department of State

2012 - Ernesto Zedillo, Professor and Director of the Center for the Study of Globalization, Yale University 

2011 – Francis M. Deng, UN Special Advisor to the Secretary-General on the Prevention of Genocide 

2009 – Louise Arbour, President and CEO of the International Crisis Group

2007 – R. Nicholas Burns, Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs, US Department of State 

2006 – Mohamed ElBaradei, Director-General of the International Atomic Energy Association 

2005 – John D. Negroponte, US Director of National Intelligence 

2004 – John C. Danforth, US Ambassador to the United Nations 

2003 – James D. Wolfensohn on behalf of The World Bank Group, President of the World Bank 

2002 – Lakhdar Brahimi, UN Special Envoy for Afghanistan 

2001 – Wesley K. Clark, Special Advisor to the Preventive Defense Project, Harvard University 

2000 – Dennis B. Ross, US Ambassador and Special Middle East Coordinator 

1999 – Michel Camdessus, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund 

1998 – Kofi Annan, UN Secretary-General 

1997 – Amr Moussa, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Egypt 

1996 – Walter F. Mondale, US Ambassador to Japan 

1995 – Thomas Graham, Jr. and Jayantha Cudah Bandara Dhanapala, Special Representative for Arms Control, Non-Proliferation, and Disarmament; Sri Lankan Ambassador to the US

1992 – Thomas R. Pickering, US Ambassador to the United Nations 

1991 – Rinaldo Petrignani, Italian Ambassador to the US

1990 – David D. Newsom, Author and Columnist for the Christian Science Monitor 

1989 – Anatoly Fedorovich Dobrynin, Advisor to the Soviet Presidency

1988 – Max M. Kampelman and Mike Mansfield, Counselor to the US Department of State; United States Ambassador to Japan 

1987 – Tommy T. B. Koh, President of the Third UN Conference on the Law of the Sea 

1986 – Arthur A. Hartman, US Ambassador to the Soviet Union 

1984 – Lord Carrington, Sixth Secretary-General of NATO

1983 – Deane Hinton, US Ambassador to Pakistan

1982 – Antonio Carrillo Flores, Mexican Ambassador to the US and the Soviet Union 

1981 – William Bowdler, Assistant Secretary of State for Inter-American Affairs 

1980 – Phillip C. Habib and U. Alexis Johnson, Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs; US Delegate to the Strategic Arms Limitation Talks

1979 – David K. E. Bruce (Posthumously) and Berndt von Staden, US Ambassador and Diplomat; West German Ambassador to the US

1978 – Ellsworth Bunker, Advisor to President Carter on the Torrijos-Carter Treaties